Posted by: gargupie | April 1, 2012

Childhood Love – Egg Tarts

I succumb into a reverie mood whenever the sky grows gloomy with rain or snow.  My mind would revert back to distant childhood memories, trying to rekindle the happier moments.  Sometimes it is an event, such as a make-believing play along with my favorite cousins (yes, we did play the favorite game back then), rushing home to catch a not-to-be-missed cartoon, and my childhood comfort food – egg tart, also known as dan tat, a kind of eggy, custard pastry tart commonly found in Hong Kong.  It is an Asian twist to the Western pastries.

Before embarking on my vegan diet, my food pyramid included eggs, meats, and dairy.  So after my Saturday afternoon schooling, my mom would treat my roving appetite with a hot-out-of-the-oven dan tat. Since mom and I had to rush home to prepare for dinner, I would savor this weekly special treat on the subway ride.  Sitting closely to my mom, I dove my little hand into the paper bag to retrieve my end of the day reward.  Out came a golden sun in the form of an edible shell.  The pastry crust must be flaky and shattered at the first bite, the egg custard could not be over-sweetened or dried, and most definitely could not be cold in temperature.  The dan tat is a three, at most four bite euphoria, but that was enough to sate my hunger, just to tie me over to mom’s home cooked dinner.

So this afternoon was another misty moment.  I sauntered over to a popular Chinese bakery for their 2 for $1 deal (trust me, that is a steal nowadays).  Now that I do not consume any animal products, these treats are solely for my mom.  It is my turn to repay her.

Responses

  1. Aw this is very sweet.

    • Do you have any childhood eats? 🙂

  2. Ooooh, I’ve never eaten something like that, but it looks like the perfect childhood dish. Mine were pancakes and milky rice with sugar and cinnamon.

    • YOu know, a new German bakery/beer pub just opened in NYC, but read that the pastries and bread are quite expensive. :*(

      Ooo…do you have the recipe for the milky rice porridge? Sounds delish! 🙂

      • I think my mom just set up a pot with milk and rolled oats or short-grain rice. About 1 part oats or rice to 3-4 parts milk (depending on the consistency you like). Then you bring it to a boil and cook on reduced heat from then on. Oats just need a couple of minutes, and rice about 40-50 minutes. The same works with semolina. You can add a little sugar, and sprinkle it with a sugar-cinnamon mix before serving. Berry compote is also great.

        I think I should make milky rice again, using brown short-grain rice and coconut or almond milk. Mmmm. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the recipe! Btw, do you like this German sweet called bee sting cake? What German cake do you like 🙂

  4. Those look delicious! Where’s the Chinese bakery?

    • Thanks Marty. I got these in Chinatown. 🙂

  5. […] Childhood-love-egg-tarts(thoughtfulplate.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

