Posted by: gargupie | April 6, 2012

Brezeln – My First Authentic Germany Pretzel

We succumb to “food addiction” for certain reasons – It could be to provoke childhood memories; to satisfy a particular flavor (sweet/sour/bitter/salty/spicy); to fulfill the meaning of ‘comfort food’; or just out of sheer boredom.  I have successfully given up Diet Coke (I was once a fervor addict), coffee (I get my share of caffeine from tea nowadays), and cursing (haha), yet if you would consider this a ‘vice’, that would be bread.

Yes. I love bread.  Bread in all forms, but must be hearty and whole grain, such as rye, whole wheat, multigrain, seeded, and pumpernickel etc.  While bread has been as a diet sabotage element, I still strongly believe that a moderate serving of whole grain (whether it’s rice, quinoa, kamut, or pasta) is important in one’s diet (aside from health-related issues).  Hence, I would never jump on the low-carb wagon.  Just not my philosophy.  While I obtain my share of bread from my usual bakeries or farmer’s market vendors, I discovered a German bakery/bar that recently opened in NYC.  German bread is known to be very hearty due to the cultural preference for the usage of rye flour and that is just the type of bread I crave all the time.

Landbrot offers a wide display of bread options, whether it is dense rye loaves, pumpkin seeded rolls, or the more general ciabatta and french baguettes, it is like bread heaven in there.  While I was attracted to the yeasty creations, I was suddenly drawn to its famous brezelns, German pretzel.  These are not your typical pretzels sold on to tourists on the street of New York.  No. These are the real Teutonic deal.  Each brezeln is subjected to a ‘fat belly’ and ‘skinny limbs’ and dressed in either salt, poppy seeds, or sesame seeds.  I chose the sesame seeds. The flour used is not grainy, but fine and you would not detect the smoky flavor that often comes from over burning the pretzels.  Every crossed dough was twisted with care and love.

While I have only been talking about the bread, I must mention that European pastries, cakes, and savory dishes are also offered, plus the long list of German beers to wash everything down.  I love to visit cultural eateries because it is like a mini vacation as I cannot afford an oversea journey.  Being in Landbrot just makes me want to visit Germany even more, if not just for the bread and brezelns.

Responses

  1. I love that the shop is called “Landbrot”! That’s German for rural or country bread (bread made in rural areas). Landbrot over here typically is a rather light bread with a grentle crust, made from a mixture of rye and wheat flour. http://ostwestwind.twoday.net/stories/6298656/

    The pretzel looks awesome and very original! Traditionally they’re sprinkled with salt grains, but I’ve also seen sesame and pumpkin seeds on pretzels frequently.

    You should come to Germany one day! Germany is the bread country, I think there are more than 200 varieties of bread over here. And don’t forget to visit me then! 😀

    • I would loooove to visit you! Are you near Berlin? 🙂

      • Haha, nooooooooo. I’m in Heidelberg, in the southern-eastern corner of Germany. But we have nice food (bread :D) and wine over here! However, if you go to Berlin, I may consider to ge there and see you!

  2. That looks like one delicious pretzel! I need to check this place out, thanks for the heads up!

    • Lotsa German beer, hint*hint 🙂

  3. Oh, this looks amazing! Pretzel bread is so good and the “fat belly” is so enticing, more to love!

    • Thanks for stopping by! Yea, I love cultural grubs. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

