Posted by: gargupie | July 15, 2010

What To Do With Day-Old Bread? Solution: French Toast

Two slices of whole wheat bread have been sitting in the bread box for a week, looking a bit stale.  Visually, they didn’t look appetizing, yet what a waste to treat them as garbage.  Think of all the hungry people in this world! Today, I woke up earlier than I usually do (perhaps it’s the summer heat), so I had some quiet, down time before my mom woke up. Pacing in the kitchen, deciding what to make for her, I decided to use the day-old bread to create a French toast breakfast.  Just an egg, a splash of milk, a sprinkle of sugar, a drop of vanilla extract, a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and I soaked the bread into the wet mixture.  Then, I melted some butter into a frying pan.  Grilled the bread. Both sides please. And the finally step – sandwiched some sliced bananas and did a POW-POW with powdered sugar and pumpkin seeds (almond slices if you prefer).  The forgotten has now been resurrected into a beautiful dish.


Responses

  1. Funny, I have been thinking lately about making French toast! I think this is a sign…

  2. Go for it! 🙂

  3. Also partial to the PB + banana Elvis sandwich. Next to stale Texas toast never tasted so good 🙂

    • @Nicholas 0 totally concur. I adore PB and riped banana. The perfect marriage.


Leave a comment

Categories