Posted by: gargupie | July 10, 2010

Emergency Dessert – Banana Chocolate Pudding Pie

Yike! It’s 11pm and I just found out I was meeting with friends in Central Park the next day.  I needed to come up with a sweet dish. Quick! I searched through my cabinet, trying to dig up whatever ingredients I could come up with to create something sweet and edible.  It’s a bit like the Food Network’s “Chopped”, except I had to look for my ingredients and try to concoct something with them.  It was also too late to bake an elaborate cake, but then in the pantry, I found a graham cracker pie, then in another container, I discovered a box of chocolate pudding pie mix.  In the fridge, I still have half a quart of milk.  I turned around and saw some ripe bananas on the dining room counter  That’s it! Banana Chocolate Pudding Pie!

I whipped this baby up in half an hour, placed it in the fridge for 2 hours and it was ready by my 2pm meet-up.

FYI, my friends enjoyed the pie.  It’s semi-homemade, but it is the thought that counts, right? 🙂

What do you make for a last minute event?


Responses

  1. Mmmmm, anything chocolate wins me over!

  2. Definitely the thought that counts! This one looks like a winner, I love the chocolate and banana combo!

  3. This is good!

  4. Yum, chocolate anything is a must in my book! For a quick treat, I melt some good chocolate and cream add a splash of liqueur and dip stuff in it!


Leave a comment

Categories