Posted by: gargupie | June 24, 2013

Matcha & Black Sesame Cookies

matcha, black sesame cookies1

Not that I have been lazy, but just lacked the motivation to bake.  Ironically, I always read food blogs, but guess I should use this energy to more productive purposes.  I am also actively looking for work, but to no fruitful yield.  From restaurant, administration, to temp jobs, my luck is running out.  But last week, a bakery is seeking a part time baking intern.  Scheduled to go in for an informal interview plus a baked product of my own, I succumbed to food poisoning and had to schedule.  Food poisoning is no joke.  Your body becomes so weak and the lost of appetite is truly scary.  Besides a doctor’s visit, I was in bed (or on my sofa) for hours and hours, the longest I had ever slept in years! This is a good learning lesson for me indeed.  To make a long story short, I was interviewed this morning and there was no question what I wanted to bake – something matcha related.  A packet of grounded black sesame seeds was dormant in my fridge, so why not create a hybrid cookie of matcha and black sesame? Although the cookies do not ‘look’ photogenic, but my mom gave her approval.  Whether I would score this internship or not, is another story.

Matcha & Black Sesame Cookies

Ingredients:

a stick of unsalted butter

1/2 cup of sugar

a tablespoon of vanilla extract

1 3/4 cup of all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons each of matcha powder and grounded black sesame seeds

Procedures:

1. Set oven to 350F

2. Cream butter and sugar.  Add in vanilla extract.  Gradually sift in flour.

3. Divide batter into two batches. In one batch, mix in the matcha powder and the other with the black sesame powder.

4. Place dough into fridge for an hour.

5. Take out dough and combine a bit of dough from each batch.  Roll into balls and flatten a bit on baking sheet.

6. Bake cookies 10-12 min.

Very intense grassy matcha flavor and nutty black sesame texture. “)matcha, black sesame cookies2

Responses

  1. Oh no for the food poisoning! 😦 Are you better now? I very much hope so!

    The cookies look lovely, but you know sugar and all-purpose flour are not my friends. I’d like to make a gluten-free and unsweetened version of them though, as I’ve recently discovered the pleasures of baking. 🙂

    Have you heard about the internship? I’m crossing my fingers you’ll find a job soon!

    • Sorry for the delay in reply. I’m sure you can make this using brown rice flour and use agave nectar instead. Just got to play around with it. 🙂
      THe internship hasn’t started. Got some hiccups, so I’m just waiting…sad it’s unpaid though, not even transportation reimbursement. 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

