Posted by: gargupie | April 6, 2013

Revisiting my childhood love – Hong Kong style egg custard tarts

HK style egg custard tarts1 HK style egg custard tarts2Funny that I have all this ‘time’, yet I am so lax with updating my posts.  I do continuously take pictures on my phone of the dishes I have stormed up in the kitchen and meals I ate in restaurants.  Yet, I never found the ‘energy’ to write a decent passage and keep my blog interesting and current.  I find time to read other blogs, yet I could have used the same effort to do my part.  So is this sheer laziness or reluctance?

I have been without a job for awhile.  My field of study is not opening up in my area (not willing to relocate) and I keep failing my certification exam.  Not proud of this.  I have always been interested in the food industry, but every position I seek out require experience.  So my question is, how could one gain experience if opportunity is denied? However, I just a job at a new restaurant.  I am both excited and apprehensive about this chance.  I am glad to finally jump back into the workforce and financially contribute to my family, but I also know this is not an easy job.  Do not ever underestimate your server’s responsibilities.  It is a tough gig that is severely underappreciated.  I am always courteous to my server because every job should be respected. No hierarchical discrimination.  I respect anyone who makes a fair, honest living.  So I went for a trail last week, following a waiter around and get a sense of what the job entails.  The manager is very understanding and thought I did a good job and said I could come in for training and then go live by next weekend.  Wow. My mom is a bit worried if I could handle the workload (my health is not in the best shape). Schedule will be intense, but that is expected.  I do look at this as a learning experience and a chance to meet new people and strengthen my resume.  Although it is not related to my field of study, I think we could learn new things from all directions.  We cannot be fixated on certain ideals.  We have to learn to be flexible, understanding, and willingness to learn.

So one of my friends (an older lady) was in the hospital.  Before she went in for her surgery, I baked her my childhood love – Hong Kong style egg tarts.  It was something I always ate after school as a snack.  You could say it was comfort food because it is sweet, custardy, and loved the eggy goodness especially fresh out of the oven.  My friend enjoyed it every much.  She equaled it to bakery version. I thought she was just being generous.  In any case, so glad she tasted something sweet before the harsh surgery she went through.  But she is a fighter and now she is nursing at home.  She is my role model. Never give up.

Ingredients:

Pastry:

2 cups of flour

1/2 cup of cold, cubed butter

4 tables spoons of water

Custard:

2 eggs, room temperature

1.5 cups of whole milk

4 ounces of sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit and grease the tart pans.

2.Mix the butter and flour until in crumb-like form. Knead while gradually add in water. Roll the dough into a ball, cover with plastic wrap and place in fridge.

3. Beat the eggs, then stir in the milk and the sugar.

4. Take dough out and roll to about 1/8-inch or 3 to 4 mm thick.  Fit the circles into the tart shells.

5. Pour the filling into the shells. Bake until the custard is cooked (about 35 minutes). Cool.

Responses

  1. Transition from studies to job is such a delicate topic … I’m sorry to hear about your qualification exam outcome, and yes it’s awful how you are denied from collecting experience by demand of already given professional experience. 😦 Happy you’ve found a job now! I’ve worked as a waitress at a café during my first time of studies and agree that it’s a very challenging and underestimated (and underappreciated) job because it’s challenging with regard to both physical strain and mental alertness. Sending my best wishes from Germany! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

