Posted by: gargupie | January 1, 2013

Happy New Year 2013!

Out with the old, in with the new. I wish all my readers a fresh start of the year of 2013!

Today, I visited Mitsuwa, a Japanese supermarket with several locations across the US.  The closest one to me is situated in New Jersey and since I do not have  car, I took their special service bus (with fee, of course) across the river to participate their annual mochitsuki, a mochi pounding traditional event that happens on New Year only.  Due to the large crowd, I was unable to get a good shot of the pounding action and sadly, I am not a tall gal to reach over the sea of heads.  My only solace was that there were less crowds in the restroom and the restaurant area, so I took this opportunity to ‘release’ and ‘consume’. 🙂  Plus, they were serving free mochi swimming in a sweet red bean soup.  A delicacy for good luck in the new year.

For lunch, Mom chose the “Japanese breakfast set’, which composed of marinated salmon, a bowl of rice, natto (acquired taste definitely), miso soup and other accoutrements.  Unfortunately, the rice was cold and the fish was oversalted.  Should have went for the ramen place, though the line was extremely long, well, guess there is a reason why because the foods are hot and fresh.  Before we left, we grabbed some salmon avocado sushi and some Japanese pastries.  We travelled this far, might as well buy more, right? 🙂

Happy New Year again! May the world prospers and there be peace on earth~

Responses

  1. Aww, too bad the food wasn’t so good. You can haunt me with salty foods! Loved the pictures, thank you for sharing! I saw them in the slice show, in larger. 🙂 I hope you’ve had a good start into 2013!

    • Thanks, Kath. 2013 is still as rough as 2012, but trying to keep my chin up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

