Posted by: gargupie | October 29, 2012

Hurricane Baking

The East Coast is finally getting hit by Hurricane Sandy.  Oh Sandy, Sandy. You’ve scared the government so much that all our public transportation is shutdown. So no subway, no bus, no train. Nada. Most people are stuck at home (like me), so what to do? The obvious choice for me is to get busy in the kitchen.  I have not been doing some therapeutic baking lately. I felt so bad that I have neglected this hobby of mine, so today, I was determined to take this inside opportunity to bake up a ‘storm’ (no pun intended, hee).

I am all for incorporating butter and sugar in baked goods (most of my eaters prefer the decadent sweets), but one thing I would never do at home is frying.  Firstly because of poor ventilation in my small kitchen space; secondly, I do not like splattered oil all over the place; and thirdly, personally, I think all fried foods are bad for health.   Doughnuts are normally fried; instead, I went the ‘healthier’ route and baked them.  Sure, they do not really taste like the real deal, but my taster (aka Mom) tested my doughnut hole and said it was moist and soft.  If Mom approved, then it is all good. 🙂

Baked Glazed CHocolate Cinnamon Doughnuts

  • 1.5 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2  teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Glaze:

  • 1/4 cup confectioner sugar
  • 4 tablespoons milk

1. Preheat oven to 375° F.

2. Combine all dry ingredients.

3. Cream the butter and sugar.

4. Mix the egg, buttermilk and vanilla.

5. Combine the dry and wet mixtures together.

6. Shape dough onto a cooking sheet.

7. Bake for approxnmately 10 minutes.

8. For the glaze, mix the sugar and milk together.

9. Cool.

10. Glaze doughnuts.

Responses

  1. I’ve been following the horror news about the hurricane and I’m so happy to read you’re okay! Thinking of you!

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Kath 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

