Posted by: gargupie | June 16, 2012

Homemade Ginger Peach Jam

I do not enjoy fighting the supermarket crowd on Friday evening.  No. Not only the on sale items are the ‘hot buys’ that deplete quickly, but the line waiting is a test to my patience and frankly, that is not one of my best trait. 😛  So, I prefer to grocery shop in the morning and late afternoon before the traffic rush.  I got off work early one afternoon and decided to see what the supermarket had to offer. I traipsed down the aisles and discovered a pack of overripe peaches sold with a discounted price.  They were bruised, but still looked edible. Like a light bulb instigated over my head, why not make peach jam?!

Last night was my ‘jamming’ session. 🙂 I skinned the fruits (about seven peaches), took out the pits and placed the cut up flesh to stew along with sugar (1.5 cups) in a pot.  A squirt of lemon juice and a pinch of ginger powder (optional), simmered over low heat for about half an hour or until the liquid started to glisten.  I spooned the jam into clean mason jars (or use clean pasta sauce jar or reuse your old jam jars), then cool before stored in the fridge.

Breakfast agenda – a spoonful (or two) over a whole wheat roll.

Mission accomplished.  Hope my friends who I gifted two jars to would enjoy them.  This jam would accompany quite well with proteins, such as fish, chicken, pork, or stir into your oatmeal as a natural sweetener.

How would you use this homemade jam? 🙂

Responses

  1. Jamming session, I love that! 😀 The last time I made jam was when we had so much grape juice from the vines in the courtyard. Jam making is fun and it makes wonderful presents. I like to include things like ginger to make it fancier.

  2. I agree. Grapes…perhaps you should be making wine then, hehe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

