Posted by: gargupie | February 25, 2012

Pizza Charity Lunch

I won a free large pizza pie from a chain pizza restaurant and I had to claim my winning before the offer expires.  As a vegan, what am I going to do with a piece of dough topped with dairy? Gift it away? I could go on that avenue.  Treat my mom? Do not think she would appreciate eating pizza three meals a day for the entire week. Or share it with my co-workers? I chose the last option, but instead of just ‘giving it’ to them, I decided to fundraise money to benefit a non-profit organization.  After some research searching for some local chapters around town, I decided to donate to Education Through Music, a non-profit organization founded to promote the integration of music into the curricula of disadvantaged schools in order to enhance students’ academic performance and general development.  I think the arts are severely underrated in the education curriculum, yet they are subjects that could benefit a child’s personal and intellectual growth and creativity. When I asked for any volunteering eaters in my office to donate at least $2 per slice of pizza, I got more serious eaters than I thought I could enroll and even had to order an extra pie! Luckily, some were extremely generous and gave more than was asked.  Some even donated even when they did not partake in the eating! So, to thank all my generous colleagues with their philanthropical gesture, I also baked up some musical note sugar cookies as my way of saying ‘thanks!’  They enjoyed both the savory and sweet goodies~

PS even the president of the company matched our donation! FYI, we raised exactly $100! Yippee us! 🙂

Basic Sugar Cookie Recipe

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 oF. In large bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in egg and vanilla. Gradually blend on dry ingredients. Shape dough into a disk and wrap in plastic. Place in fridge for at least three hours or freezer for future usage.

Take dough out and dethaw for 15 minutes. Roll out 1/8 inch thick and now use any cookie cutters you wish.

Bake until edges are golden, 10 to 12 minutes (depending on size). Cool and add icing or other decorating as desired.

Responses

  1. […] made a batch of sugar cookie dough for my Pizza Charity Lunch, since it is a-ok to pre-make and freeze the dough for future usage (aka emergency).  Well, it […]

  2. What a great story and a worthy cause. Your cookies are adorable looking too!

    • Thanks for your compliment! It means a lot to be appreciated. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

