Posted by: gargupie | February 11, 2012

Zen Food – Sauteed Fried Cubed Tofu and Green Snow Peas

Restaurant food can sometimes really make it you feel…how to put it delicately…bloated.  Yet, it is still enjoyable to dine out; but at the end of the day, homemade food just cannot be substituted.  Mom and I prefer to do lunch/brunch and keep the dinner light.  I treated my mom to a prix-fixe lunch yesterday, so tonight, she wanted to have healthier meal. It is all about balance, right? 🙂

Sure, the tofu is fried, but it is not oily or heavy.  Sautee with  freshly vibrant green  snow peas and you have got a healthy dish in a matter of five minutes, top.  So where should we go out to next Mom? 🙂

Responses

  1. I usually make my food in a frying pan, so I guess most of what I eat is fried. 😛 But there’s a nice line between fried and deep fried (I never eat deep fried foods), and I usually use very little oil when I prepare my things. This is mostly because I really detest oily stuff. I don’t know, I just find it disgusting. I drink a lot of almond milk, though, and also like seeds and things like that, so I don’t run short in healthy fats. 🙂

    This looks really nice. You know, I’m all about balance (not moderation, though ;)) – I believe balance is the key to a healthy and happy life. 🙂

    • I concur. It’s like my body ‘knows’ what she wants (well, she’s definitely more knowledgeable than me, hee). If I had something sweet in the morning, I ‘crave’ savory food in the afternoon and vice versa. I tend to listen to my body’s wants now, which works out.

      • Ha, that shows that your body is healthy and not confused by sugar addiction or anything like that. I like that a lot! 😀

  2. Your dish gives me an appetite for snap peas, btw. I love snap peas, but they’re sooooooooo expensive. 😦

    • Really? Yea, but I think sugar snap peas are nore expensive than snow peas. I got these on sales.

  3. According to my dictionary, sugar snap peas are the pods, whereas snow peas are when the peas have already grown inside of the pods. Unfortunatly, they’re both equally expensive over here. Boo. 😦

    • This is what I found…

      Snow Peas or Chinese Pea Pods

      Sometimes called Chinese pea pods, this variety is usually used in stir-fries. Snow peas are flat with edible pods through which you can usually see the shadows of the flat Pea seeds inside; they are never shelled. Overall, they are not as nutritious as garden peas, but they do have a higher concentration of vitamin C and fewer calories. Fresh and frozen Snow Peas are available.

      Sugar Snap Peas

      A cross between the garden and snow pea, they have plump edible pods with a crisp, snappy texture; they are not shelled. Both snow peas and snap peas feature a slightly sweeter and cooler taste than the garden pea. Like snow peas, snap peas have fewer nutrients and calories than garden peas. Fresh and frozen wugar snap peas are available.

      • Haha, okay, that’s what I mean then. Flat pea pods, brightly green. And still f*ing exensive over here. 😀

      • Thank you for clearing this up! 🙂

  4. Yea, but sometimes I wait too long to eat and overstuff myself. That’s something I need to work on. Does that happen to you? How many meals do you eat per day usually?


Leave a Reply

Categories

