Posted by: gargupie | December 17, 2011

Forcella, New York – Where You Find a “Fried” Pizza

Did the word ‘fried’ get your attention? There is still ‘unfortunate’ belief that when in doubt, just ‘fry it’.  Do not like okras’ slimness? Do what they do in New Orleans, fry them! Do not boiled potato? Fried the potatoes to make french fries! Or if you want something already ‘sinful’ even MORE sinful, fry the Mars bar! To make it clear, I do not like fried food. Yes, I said it.  I have weaned myself away from my childhood’s favorite (McDonald’s fries) and stopped dipping fried crueller in my congee, so I was skeptical when I heard of ‘fried’ pizza, but it is a genre I am willing to test out.

If you are a frequent reader on my blog, I have never done a restaurant review, but because my recent culinary adventures have been lacking (being sick and just tired) and I felt I needed to update my blog before I lose my ‘blog cred’, I decided to write a dining experience that is worth discussing.  So, every Saturday, my mom and I would ‘brunch’.  More like lunch, but in New York, we call it brunch, as long as it is a meal consumed between the hours 11am-4pm.  There is never anything for me on a typical brunch menu, with its standard egg entrees or hearty burgers, so I mostly dine at restaurants that offer other alternatives.  Italian restaurants are great because they have got pastas, pizzas, salads, appetizers, and of course, coffee. 🙂  So it is always a safe choice for a decent brunch meal, besides Asian restaurants in my book.

Today, mom and I visited Forcella, an Italian pizzeria (once started in Brooklyn, NY, but recently opened another location in Manhattan) dedicated to the art of making traditional Neapolitan pizza.  The chef behind this joint is a double certified pizzaiolo named Giulio Adriani and the pizza of choice to order here is the montanara, which is a flash-fried, then oven-baked pizza topped with fresh tomato sauce, mozzarella and a few sprigs of basil. What makes this pizza special is in its crust.  I am no pizza zealot, but because the dough is only slightly ‘fried’, the bread remained light, yet got the texture of a crueller. I could just eat off the cornicone with hummus, my preferred dip. 🙂

As always, I needed some greens with every meal and the arugula with sliced fennel added refreshing balance to the carby pie due to their bitterness.  While pizza is not on my regular meal rotation, I am glad I seeked out a place that both my mom and I would enjoy.  Our once a week mommy & daughter quality time~

Responses

  1. I’m not a fan of (deep) fried food either – I prefer steamed or cooked or baked or slightly roasted or stir-fried or raw (so, there are lots of alternatives ;)).

    Brunch is the same over here as with you. I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂

    • It’s not really ‘fried’, but ever so slightly to give it an interesting texture. If my mom likes it, then it’s definitely not too ‘bad’ for you, hehe.

      I always order the salad and a side dish of fresh veggies and luckily, I’m not on a low-carb diet, so I always have some nice, artisan bread to pair with my meal. 🙂

  2. Are there no cafés with vegan brunch options in NYC?? 😯

    • Oh yes! There are quite a few vegan restaurants in NYC (we visited a vegetarian/vegan restaurant just last weekend! She ordered ‘drumsticks’, lol, but really mock meat) but I wanted to bring my mom to places that she might enjoy and be adventurous. 🙂

  3. AAAh dying to try forcella! I also always need veggies with my pizza – in midtown, I like lazarras and downtown I love adriennes!

    • Now that there’s one in Manhattan, definitely give it a go! Thanks for your recommendations!

  4. Merry Christmas and happy holidays, Kim! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

