Posted by: gargupie | November 24, 2011

Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s the annual Thanksgiving Day in the US today! While it should be a day where we express our gratitude for the food on the table and the roof over our head, sadly, nowadays, people associate this day with gluttony (overstuffed stomachs) and excessive shopping the next day, also known as Black Friday, where you basically do not sleep and hit the stores starting at midnight to grab cheap deals. I know I will not be participating in these commercial frenzies, but I do want to share the delectable meal I was blessed with tonight. It was a bountiful spread of stewed chicken, steamed fish, steamed spare ribs with black bean sauce, sautee greens (garlicky, too), and some wok-fried Spam just to fill up the dinner table space. Granted not all the dishes I was able to partake on, I was lucky to be able to share intimate moments with my loved ones.

May we all share our thankfulness with the people we care and love.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Responses

  1. Ditto all your observations and glad someone (you) is putting them down in print for posterity! 🙂
    Happy belated Thanksgiving! Table looks inviting!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you! We don’t celebrate that over here, but sharing food with loved ones is such a great tradition! 🙂

    • I agree. It’s an excuse to eat a lot, but for me, it’s to get everyone together under one roof. 🙂

  3. Wok-fried Spam brings back fond memories! Hope you are enjoying your holiday weekend!

    • I know. So ‘Asian’ right? 🙂 You too! Hope you had a nice holiday, too!

  4. Happy Belated Thanksgiving Day to you too! Hope your holiday season is joyful and smooth. 🙂

  5. Your Thanksgiving dinner looks a lot like mine! Well, except for the pan fried Spam. As tasty as they are, my family pretty much ban them from the dinner table due to health reasons. =) I’m glad to see that you had a nice Thanksgiving dinner!

    • Thanks Sharon. I’m a vegan, so the Spam dish was an add-on since there were so many people who came for dinner that night 🙂 What did you serve at your Thanksgiving dinner? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

