Posted by: gargupie | November 13, 2011

Apple Galette

It is ironic how I never used my favorite fruit in my dessert recipes.  Yes, I am taking about my daily, mandatory food particle – apples.  Maybe because I am so selfish to share my favorite food with others, so I hoard over my sack of apples instead of incorporating them into my baking routine.  However, now that autumn is apple season, there are abundance of apples everywhere at the lowest price in a year.  So, there is no reason NOT to share the wealth, right? Besides, an apple a day, keeps the doctor away! 🙂

I will never be a fine dining pastry chef, yet there is nothing wrong with a free form creation.  Apple galette not only is it easy to make, but the rustic appearance just makes it more personable and friendly to dig in.

Crust:
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
4 tablespoon of chilled, unsalted butter, cubed
3-6 tablespoons cold water
1/4 teaspoon salt

Filling:
2 tart apples, preferably Granny Smith, peeled and sliced in thin wedges
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
a pinch of nutmeg

For the crust, mix the flour, cubed butter, and salt in a medium bowl.  Mix with your fingers until the butter is incorporated into the dry ingredients.  Drizzle in the water while mixing the dough with a fork.  Work the dough until everything comes together.  Wrap in plastic wrap store in the fridge for at least an hour to firm up.

Preheat the oven to 400F.

On a floured board, roll out the rough. Place dough on a parchment lined baking sheet.

For the filling, mixed the apples, sugar, and spices together.  Let everything macerate for half an hour.  You will see the juices coming out from the apple. Do not discard them! They are yummy!  Spread the apples over the middle of the prepared crust, leaving about 1 1/2 inch of the dough to wrap around. Pour the juices over the apple, but do not oversaturate the dough.

Bake for about 40 minutes or until the crust is golden. Cool before cutting it up. You can serve it a la mode (vanilla ice cream? Sure!) or with whipped cream or as is. 🙂

Responses

  1. Apples are my favorite fruit, and I used to love apple pie! I should try to make a gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free version … 😛

  2. I think you can definitely create a version to your liking. 🙂 Apple is my fav fruit. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

