Posted by: gargupie | November 12, 2011

Old-World Business Signs in Hong Kong

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My posting went on a hiatus because I took a short trip to Hong Kong and just returned yesterday.  The weather there was at least 20 oF higher than NYC, so returning to the bitter chills was not a welcoming gesture upon arrival.  My trip was part pleasure and part monetary interests, but of course, I did not shy away the opportunities to revisit my old, favorite places and to reminisce what the remaining old Hong Kong has left, which was not much nowadays, with globalization and all.  Just want to share some old-world business signs that still exist in parts of the city.  If you do not pick up you head and look up, you might dismiss a lot of interesting relics that had weathered through typhoons and natural rusting.

Responses

  1. Welcome back! I was there last December and I remember wearing a light jacket or no jacket at all. It was great! Did you get your fill of dim sum? I remember eating lots of things that they don’t have in Flushing. But the great thing about Flushing is that they still have the rolling carts.

  2. Thanks for stopping by! Yea, the weather was great (until I left). I was wearing short sleeves and I could even get away with shorts if I wanted to!

    Yes, I took some dim sum pictures and I’ll post those soon. 🙂

    Sadly, most dim sum restaurants have eliminated rolling cart services and resorted to the ‘checklist’ style now. I must admit that I prefer the adventure of peeping into the bamboo dishes as the carts passed along, but at last…

    NYC is so cold now…brrr…:(

  3. I visited for the first time last month. Went for both business and pleasure and was totally amazed at how welcomed I felt in their culture and sure enjoyed the food.

    • So glad you had a pleasant visit in Hong Kong. The people shows hospitality (especially in the service business) and the vast available of food isn’t too shabby either. 🙂

  4. Aww, thank you for sharing those pictures! They really live from the contrast of modernity and tradition, wealth and poverty. I hope you enjoyed your trip!

    • Thanks, Kath! It was nice to spend time with family. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

