Posted by: gargupie | October 29, 2011

Hiking at Cold Spring, NY

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is great to dine with friends, but sometimes, you need to explore other activities that are non-food related. Luckily, I have friends who love outdoorsy ideas and are avid travellers (so envious of them).  Last weekend, to take advantage of the last of the autumnal temperature (it’s snowing in NYC today! Crazy! That should not be allowed in October!) one friend suggested taking the train to go on a hike at Cold Spring, NY.  At first, I was hesitant because the last time I hiked, I slipped and felt into the water and had to live with soggy socks and shoes for the next six hours.  Not only it was an embarrassment, but an enormous personal discomfort.  But my friend reassured me that it would only be five miles, so I eventually mustered up enough courage to take on this physical feat.

I have to show my gratitude to my friend because the fresh air, pristine scenic views, and the workout on my body were all worth the effort.  We took in the stoney roads and climbed step by step until we reached a breezy rock to lunch at noon. Just the basic – bread, avocado, water, and bean salad to pair with the wide-angle Hudson River view.  After refueling ourselves, we ventured forth.  The entire trip ended at 3pm, when we took the train back to the city.  In final thought, let’s just say I slept like a baby that night.

Responses

  1. Hiking on Breakneck Ridge is so much fun! I’ve been meaning to go back every fall. Your slideshow is convincing me to make plans before it gets unbearably cold.

    • Do it! 🙂 Thanks for pointing out my typo. 🙂

  2. I’m very happy if friendship activities aren’t always food-centered. And I love hiking – nothing can beat the beauty of nature.

  3. Thanks Kath! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

