Posted by: gargupie | October 21, 2011

Cranberry and Sunflower Seeds Cookies

I adore cookies because they are a one-bite wonder.  They are great to eat on the go or just a sweet munchies to tie over your primary meal (that is if do not consider dessert to be your main diet, :P).  Sadly, I rarely bake cookie mainly because I do most of my baking in my toaster oven since my stove is preoccupied with pots and pans, hence, you mostly see pies and quick bread on my blog.  Though when I am really up for some cookie action, I will just make short batches, which could be a good thing since everything stays fresh!

I wanted to use some unique add-ons in my cookies, so I looked through my pantry and found some interesting takes – dried cranberries and sunflower seeds.  So you could say these are ‘healthy’ cookies, antioxidant from the cranberries and protein from the seeds, hello! 🙂

Ingredients

1 stick of butter, softened

1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 brown sugar

1.5  cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup dried cranberries and 1/2 cup sunflower seeds

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, white sugar and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg until well blended. Combine the flour, baking soda, vanilla extract and salt. Mix in cranberries and sunflower seeds until evenly distributed. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Cookies should be spaced at least 2 inches apart.
  3. Bake for 12 to 14 minutes in the preheated oven, until the edges are golden. Remove from cookie sheets to cool on wire racks.

These came out crispy around the edges and moist in the middle.  Best of all, not too sweet. A great alternative to your grab-and-go snack.

Responses

  1. Oh, lovely! I’ve never baked with sunflower seeds or cranberries so far!

  2. Yea, it’s a different combination!


Leave a Reply

Categories

