Posted by: gargupie | October 15, 2011

Cheesy Bread Pudding

My family (for some odd reasons) does not have a sweet tooth. Although I enjoy my sweet intake from fruits and juices, we rarely eat baked desserts on a daily basic.  I am always amazed when people would down a bowlful of ice cream as an after dinner treat. Mine is always fruits and maybe a slice of bread. 😛

So to veer away from the sweet route, I decided to make a savory bread pudding for mom’s breakfast.  If you have been following, my breakfast choices are usually sweet-oriented, but to make an exception, I wanted to venture out and try something different.  I here present you – cheesy bread pudding.

Quite simple – just substitute all the sweet ingredients with savory ones. Instead of maple simple and cinnamon, I used shredded Mexican cheese and a bit of butter to make it more decadent. Mix a beaten egg, 1/2 cup of milk and soak in some day old bread along with the cheese.  Let the mixture sit for 15 minutes or more. Bake at 350 F for approximately 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out dry when inserted into the pudding. 

Now that you have started your day with a non-sweet item, you are justified to have something sweet in the afternoon. My mom sure did with black sesame and taro ice-cream. 🙂

 

Responses

  1. Very nice idea! And the fresh tomatoes just seem to be the perfect addition! 🙂

  2. THanks Kath! Great to hear from you again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

