Posted by: gargupie | October 9, 2011

Cinnamon…Buns?

I am both a creature of habit (must have a glass of OJ every morning) and temperature.  The realization for the latter is because when the mercury rises, I find it more difficult to fall asleep.  Case in point.  We have been enjoying some seasonably sunny weather in NYC these past few days.  Not autumn like at all. More like late summertime.  Of course, I am not complaining since I adore the heat (am I a ‘strange’ creature as well???) I would take a 100 degree day over a snowy one.  But with the abrupt change in temperature also results to restless nights.  Once again, I could stay asleep this morning, so instead of rolling in bed in frustration, I ‘rolled’ out of bed to ‘roll’ some cinnamon buns.  My intention was to bake cinnamon rolls. You know, the usual creation in bakeries and maybe your grandma’s kitchen.  But my dough turned too moist, so I switched gear and rolled the dough into balls instead.  The cinnamon buns are not as geometrically challenged as the roll version, but the carmelized brown sugar stickiness and buttery innard would surly make up for the visual upset. 

I sure wish this weather will stick around like my sticky buns. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 3 cups (13 1/2 ounces) bread flour (I used all-purpose flour since that’s what I had at 5am)
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 egg
  • 8 tablespoons room temperature butter, divided
  • 1 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup powdered sugar mixed with 3 tablespoon milk

Procedures

  1. In a bowl, combine the water, honey and yeast. Set aside until it’s bubbly, about 10 minutes. Sift and add the flour, milk and beaten egg. Knead with the dough hook until smooth and elastic. Add 4 tablespoon of butter, sugar and salt. Knead until they are fully incorporated.

  2. Form the dough into a ball, return it to the bowl. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set aside until it has doubled in size in about 1 hour.

  3. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Mix the cinnamon in with the brown sugar. Rub the rest of the butter into a pie pan and then sprinkle the sugar mixture around. Flour your work surface lightly and turn out the dough. Knead it a bit and then return it back into the bowl.

  4. In a small bowl, combine 1 cup of powdered sugar and milk. Next, roll out the dough into balls and carefully place them into the pie pan. Cover the pan with plastic wrap and set aside until it has doubled in size in about 30 minutes.

  5. Remove the plastic wrap and bake at 350 degrees until nicely browned or about 30 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool on a rack.

  6. Once cooled, drizzle the confectioner sugar glaze over the buns.

PS You could definitely incorporate your choice of nuts into this sweet, but I omitted them because some of my co-workers are allergic to nuts and I have to be sensitive to their dietary needs.

Responses

  1. Why not? One can never have enough cinnamon. 😀

    • I concur. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

