Posted by: gargupie | September 30, 2011

Chocolate Glazed Sponge Cake

It is strange that I could be exhausted, yet still woke up early.  Rolling in bed did not solve my problem, so I decided to get up and bake. I guess I just do not like to settle down.  Come to think of it, if you ask me to sit and read a book or go out and walk, I would most definitely choose the latter choice.

I had a coupon and bought a half-gallon of milk. Since I do not consume dairy, my mother cannot down all that creamy goodness, so I brainstormed on what cake recipe would include milk.  I searched on the Internet and came around this milk sponge cake recipe.  I tweaked it a little bit because I wanted to use fewer eggs (original recipe asked for four, but I used two) and less sugar (I halved the portion).  I also improvised a last-minute chocolate glaze to dress the moist cake up.  Got to say, my co-workers should be pleased.

Cake ingredients: a cup of warm milk, 4 tbsp of room temperature butter, 2 beaten eggs, a cup of sugar, 2 cup of sifted white flour, 2 tsp of baking powder.

Chocolate glaze ingredients: 2 cups of confectioner sugar, 4 tbsp of cocoa powder, 5 tbsp of butter, 5 tbsp of milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Mix all the dry cake ingredients together. In another bowl, combine the butter, sugar, and slowly temper in the milk, then the egg so you do not ‘cook’ the eggs before you put the mixture into the oven.

3. Blend in the flour.  Pour into a round pan and bake for 45 minutes.

4. For the chocolate glaze, put all the ingredients together and simmer over the stove just a bit and then let the glaze cool to thicken up.

5. When the sponge cake is ready, cool it off for half an hour.  Poke some hole on top before pouring the glaze over the top.

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. “Rolling in bed did not solve my problem, so I decided to get up and bake.”

    Hahaha, I love this! It certainly doesn’t apply to me, but it’s just too funny and lovely! 😀 Your cake looks incredibly fluffy. Happy baking! 😀

    • Thanks Kath. Yea. Trying to be productive, hehe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

