Posted by: gargupie | September 23, 2011

Sweet-and-Tart Lime Meringue Pie

The summer is officially over here in my side of  ‘hood. Perhaps I should move to the Southern Hemisphere right now.  I am definitely going to miss bounties of summer fruits and vegetables, bright greenery in the park, and yes, even the heat wave. I would take high temperature over deep throat, icy weather. So, in order to celebrate the remaining grasp of outdoor-friendly warmth, I baked a lime pie for its citrus and sweet flavor.  I could not procure key limes, which are difficult to find in NY (or just very expensive), so i substitute with limes instead. I think the effect is still similar, no? 🙂

Ingredients:

graham cracker pie crust

a can of sweetened condensed milk

4 eggs, separated

half a cup of lime juice

1/4 cup of sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar

Procedures:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F

2. Mix condense milk with beaten egg yolks. Then add in the lim juice.

3. Pour mixture into pie crust.

4. Whip up egg whites, sugar, and cream of tartar until foamed up or stiff. Then top over the pie.

5. Bake for 20 minutes or until meringue browned.

6. Cool. Fridge for 3 hours. Consume!

Responses

  1. I am a big citrus devotee and this pie would be so welcome on my table! Love the taste of lime and meringue combined, the sweetness of the meringue offset by the tanginess of lime, yum!

    • Thanks for the compliment! Yes. Not every dessert is to be about chocolate. 🙂

  2. I must admit that I just love autumn. It’s my favorite season, so I don’t miss the summer. And summer was cold and rainy this year, so I’m quite happy it’s over now! 😉

    Lovely pie! I always admire how you manage to motivate yourself to put so much effort into things you don’t even eat yourself. Not vegan, right?

    • Thanks Kath.
      I like the process of baking and to put a smile on the eater’s face. Also, I’m not a ‘sweet’ person, but for some odd reasons, baking grounds me so.

      • That’s great you take so much joy in it! Then just go on baking to your heart’s content! 🙂

  3. Looks delish!!!

    • Thanks Yoshie!
      Is your dental issue all resolved now?


Leave a Reply

Categories

