Posted by: gargupie | August 28, 2011

Old-Fashioned Pumpkin Loaf

Thanks to Hurricane Irene, the entire NYC got shutdown…literally. Transit system stopped running, bridges closed, people were evacuated to shelters, and government warnings were sent (via TV) to keep everyone safe at home. Being homebound is not my cup of tea. I got the cold feet, so I spent all morning cleaning and of course, baking up a storm in the kitchen.

While my mom was busy soaking up the water from the leaky walls due to the intense rainstorm, I kept myself occupied in the kitchen.  I made two sweets and one of them is this old-fashioned pumpkin loaf, adapted from the Very Best Baking website.  Because it did not include any butter, the loaf is a bit dense and has a ‘mochi mochi’ texture, but still offers a good pumpkin flavor.  If you prefer a more decadent loaf, you can substitute the evaporated milk with a stick of butter instead. But I liked that this is a healthier version just so I could eat another slice without guilt. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 can of puree pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease 9 x 5-inch loaf pan. Combine flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a bowl. Blend eggs, pumpkin, granulated sugar, brown sugar, evaporated milk and vegetable oil in another bowl. Add flour mixture little by little to the wet mixture. Pour into pan and sprinkle or mix in the nuts.
 
Bake for 50 minutes or until the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before digging in. 🙂
Responses

  1. I’m very happy you’re well apparently. And while I’m a homebody, I’m also a victim of reactance, so I can very well understand your wish to go out.

  2. Yea. I could only stay at home for so long. Thank goodness for Internet. lol.


Leave a Reply

Categories

