Posted by: gargupie | July 24, 2011

Impromptu Sweets

My best friend is so sweet. Knowing that I am vegan, she made a reservation at a special vegan restaurant to celebrate my upcoming birthday.  I know I will enjoy the food, but I will enjoy her company much more for sure. 🙂

She knows I love to make baked goods, but it has been so hot in NYC, that I am discouraged to use the oven.  Still, I want to get busy in the kitchen, so how about a no baked recipe? This morning, even before the sun woke up, I assembled all my ingredients to make no baked peanut butter cereal balls. 

1/2 sugar, 1/2 room peanut butter (or whatever nut butter you prefer), 1/2 tsp salt, 1/3 cup of butter, 1/2 of quick cooked oatmeal, 1.5 cups of crushed corn flakes, 1/2 cup of confectioner sugar, 3 tablespoon of hot water.

Melt the sugar, peanut butter, salt and butter over slow heat.  Take the pot aside and blend in the oatmeal and cor flakes until evenly coated.  Cool slight before using saran wrap to form small, rolled up balls.  Put into freezer for half an hour.

Dissolve confectioner sugar in the hot water.  Cool a bit.  Take the peanut butter balls out and dip each into the sugar syrup.  Then, rewrap them and freeze for another hour. 

 

Responses

  1. Yum, I love peanut butter! These sound delicious.

    PS thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  2. That’s so kind of your friend! 😀

    Your little no-bake balls look delicious. I still have to explore the no-bake treats territory, but I will! 😉

    • Thanks Kath. Simple recipes can really boast one’s confident level. 🙂

  3. Cool, no-bake peanut butter cookies sound both simple and tasty. Since I’m a peanut butter fiend, I may have to give these a go.

  4. These look great. Just to be clear, you’re vegan…but you cook with butter?

    • Thanks for stopping by!

      They treats are for my good friend and she’s not vegan and loves butter. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

