Posted by: gargupie | July 20, 2011

Fudgy ‘Tiramisu’

Wow. It has been awhile since I last posted. Life has been giving me a lot of lemon and I tried with all my effort with make lemonade.  Thesis, car broke down, car rental, classes, got lost on the road…just one ripple after another. 

But I really want to go back to the kitchen, where I could feel a sense of grounding.  Tomorrow, one of my co-workers is leaving to pursue a graduate degree.  Although I am not close to him, but I want to contribute something to the farewell party.  Others will be bringing in other sweets and savory items.  Since my ‘strength’ is dessert and I had a few staples in my pantry, instead of making something difficult, I just kept things simple and quick.  I created a fudgy ‘tiramisu’.  Instead of the tradition mascarpone filling, I made homemade chocolate fudge.  The fudge is quite sweet, so his dessert is definitely for chocolate lovers.

1/2 cup of sugar

1 can of evaporated milk

2 tablespoons of butter

1/4 teaspoon of salt

2 cups of mini marshmallows

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of nuts (optional)

1. Combine sugar, evaporated milk, butter, salt and melt everything together over medium heat until slightly boiling.

2. Lower the heat and stir in the marshmallows.  Keep stirring until they are melted.

3. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours or until firm to touch.

4. Soak the lady fingers with coffee.  Layer them in your pan.  Top with the fudge. Then another layer of lady fingers. Finish off with a dusting of confectioner sugar.  refrigerate for a few hours for the ingredients to ‘marinate’.  Then cut and enjoy!

Responses

  1. Good to here you’re still there and making lemonade – and wonderful tiramisu, as I see. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

