Posted by: gargupie | June 25, 2011

I Made It!

Well, I MADE two things.

I completed my graduate internship on Friday! It has been a roller coaster year.  I made progress, then stayed at a plateau, slipped a bit, but finally climbed back up a bit.  Much like running on a treadmill.  I intern at a school, so it was a bittersweet moment to depart my students who I have been working with for the past school year.  It has been an amazing learning experience and I was so lucky to study under a supervisor who was so empathic and supportive of me.  To thank her and other teachers I had worked with, I decided to bake something special for them.  It has to be convenient to eat (so no cake) and user-friendly (a one-bowl creation).  I wanted to play around with cereal for some reasons and came across peanut butter, raisin bran cookies on the Betty Crocker website.  Bingo!

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup Gold Medal® all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
4 cups Total® Raisin Bran cereal

1. Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl,mix butter, peanut butter, sugar and egg until blended. Stir in flour, baking soda and baking powder. Stir in cereal.

2. On cookie sheets, drop dough, but remember to leave spaces between them.

3.  Bake 11 to 13 minutes or until lightly browned. Enjoy!~

Responses

  1. Congratulations on finishing your internship and creating these wonderful cookies! 😀 I hope the next year will be less of a roller coaster for you!

  2. Thanks Kath! I still got my thesis to work on. Help! How can I motivate myself? 😛

    • Anticipate how good you’ll feel when you’re done with it. 🙂

      • Thanks for the motivation. But I just found out that I need to drive an hour to another site since I didn’t do so well with my internship. Need more ‘practice’, my professor said. 😦

  3. Congrats! ..and these cookies look delicious.

    • Thanks girl! Kind of ‘healthy’ too, right? 🙂

  4. congrats on the end of your internship! is this social work graduate school? so glad you commented on my blog. i’m looking for general therapy for a variety of family/ relationship/ personal issues. CBT stuff, really. i know it’s been so helpful in the past and i really miss it.

    where are you pursuing your masters?

    • Thanks for the comment Sofia~

  5. Congrats! What a nice gesture! These look so delicious I will have to make them soon. This time around, I’ll follow the recipe exactly since the banana walnut bread didn’t taste as great with my substituted almonds. lol

  6. Thanks! Happy 4th of July to you!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

