Posted by: gargupie | June 12, 2011

Pumpkin Turnovers

Another end of the weekend. I have to mentally prepare myself for another beginning of a new week.  I love and loathe Sunday.  I love it because it is one more day for me to make an excuse ‘not’ to work, but I loathe it because it is also the ‘last’ day to catch up on work. 

This afternoon, my mom and I had lunch at our local vegetarian restaurant.  The atmosphere was pristine and the vibe was serene.  The food is clean and nourishing.  But once I stepped out onto the street again, it was back to chaos again. One really have to be mindful and focus to step afloat in this busy world of ours.

So back to culinary stuff.  I had some pie pastry (Pillsbury. Yea, it’s store bought), but I wanted to do something different from a pie.  I thought of turnovers.  They are easy to eat (sort of) and quite cute, like a pocket of treasure.  I also had a can of pumpkin on hand, so I decided to improvise some pumpkin turnovers. 

1 cup of puree pumpkin

1/3 cup of brown sugar

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

1 tsp of nutmeg

1 tsp of grounded ginger

Preheat over to 375 o F.

Mix all the ingredients together.

Unroll the pie crust. Cut into quarters. 

Spoon about 1.5 tablespoon into the middle of each quartered section. Then, carefully folder it.  Use a fork to press along the edge.

Bake 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.

Responses

  1. […] Pumpkin Turnovers « Thoughtful Plate I love it because it is one more day for me to make an excuse 'not' to work, but I loathe it because it is also the 'last' day to catch up on work. This afternoon, my mom and I had lunch at our local vegetarian […]

  2. I love easy desserts that come together quickly! Pumpkin’s always a winner!

    • Thanks for your comment! My mom shared some with her coworkers and they gave them two thumbs up. 🙂

  3. That’s a beautiful pastry! 😀

    I totally know what you mean with Sundays. Every weekend, I think, “Whee, finally time to get some of my stuff done!” (this is because I also work part-time during the week), but actually I just need to relax. I feel bad if I do, though, and I also love my work and *like* to do it, I just have to be careful with the “too much”.

    I hope you ind some peace of mind, despite of everything! 🙂

    • Thanks Kath! Yea. I need to be mindful…


Leave a Reply

Categories

