Posted by: gargupie | May 28, 2011

Honey-Glazed Butter Biscuits

It has been an extremely turbulent week for me.  First, my computer got infected with a nasty virus right when I had two deadlines for my school projects.  I literally broke down in tears. But I plowed through, with support from professor and of course, myself.  I pep-talked myself like a football player. Although the results were not as positive as I had hoped for, but at least I completed my task.  Thank goodness it is a long weekend, too! Much need downtime.

When I am in dire need to ground myself, I love to bake. I have finally gotten around the kitchen to bake up a storm, but do not worry, these biscuits are very user-friendly. Almost a one pot creation.

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and turmeric (for color)

Pinch black pepper

2 tablespoons sugar

half cup of melted butter

1 large egg

honey for glazing

1 tablespoon milk, to brush on top

Preheat oven to 450F.

In a small bowl, sift all the dry ingredients.

Mix in butter and a beaten egg. Do not overmix the dough. 

Transfer dough onto a floured surface. Roll out the dough and use any cookie cutters to shape your biscuits.

Transfer to baking sheet, brush with milk.

Bake 9-11 minutes or until golden brown. Then glaze with honey.

Responses

  1. So sorry you had such a hard week as well! 😦 Is your computer running again now?

    These cookies look so beautiful! I love the flower shape and especially that you made them so thick. 😀

    • Yes. I spent an entire day ‘fixing’ it, but had to redownload all the programs, including Microsoft Office. Boo…:( This week has been really crappy for me. Got a parking ticket this morning, too. So expensive!!!

      Thanks for the biscuit compliment. This is like the only positive thing for me today. Ha.

      • Oh no! So sorry to here that! Everything comes at once, no? It’s so often like that! 😦 Hopefully next week will be better for you! Hugs and happy waves to you! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 🙂

  2. Sorry you had a hard week — hope your computer is up and running now! You’re right, baking is very therapeutic and these biscuits look delicious!

  3. Mmmm… YUM! I love anything honey-glazed!

  4. By the way… viruses suck a$$! I had the worst computer virus when I was in Germany… and it make my entire hard drive crash! I lost everything!


Leave a Reply

Categories

