Posted by: gargupie | May 15, 2011

Chocolate Cream Cheese Brownies

Yike! It’s my best friend’s birthday!

As we grow older (no mention of wrinkles, ok? “P), material presents are less intriguing and gifted.  Picture frames? No need to add to my closet full of collection.  Scarves? Please, I only have one neck. So nowadays, friends usually just treat each other to lunch or dinner to take of the celebration.  I usually do not like to ‘buy’ meal, but to ‘bake’ one. Luckily, most of my friends have a relative sweet tooth, so it is easy for me to think of an edible present for them.

It is my best friend’s birthday and this year, I have decided to bake chocolateam cheese brownies.  It is actually easier than I expected.  Almost a ‘one-pot’ meal. Almost.  I was inspired by the Joy of Baking website, but I tweaked a little since I only have cocoa powder on hand, but it still worked out fine.  Almost, I used half the amount of sugar listed.  Cream cheese is decadent enough already. 🙂

Brownie Layer:

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup cocoa powder

3/4 cup granulated white sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 large egg

1/2 cup (65 grams) all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

Cream Cheese Layer:

8 ounces (227 grams) cream cheese, at room temperature

1/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 large egg

Preheat oven to 325 oF

Melt butter, cocoa powder together over low heat. Put aside and mix in sugar and temper in a beaten egg.

In another bowl, sieve the flour and salt and add to the chocolate. Put aside a few tablespoon of the mixture for the chocolate swirl latter.

Blend cream cheese, sugar, egg, and vanilla extract until smooth.

Layer the chocolate mixture, top with the cream cheese.  Finally, spoon the reserved chocolate batter over and use a knife to create swirls.  A black and white contrast!

Bake for about 30 minutes. Use a knife to prick the middle of the brownies. If the knife comes out dry, then it is ready to take the brownies out.

I personally prefer the corner slice. How about you?

 
Responses

  1. That looks so delicious! I’m pretty excited about making it since I happen to have all the ingredients needed, except I have only half the amount of cream cheese. Do you think it would still be good?

    • Yea, it’d be just as good. You would feel less guilty for eating an extra piece, too. 🙂 How have you been? Hope you’re doing well. 🙂

  2. I’m doing well. Looking forward to better weather! I think the phrase “April showers bring May showers” is more appropriate this year.

    I plan to make the brownies tomorrow night. This afternoon, I made a honey and almond loaf bread but it was not as moist as I wanted it to be. This one should be much better!

    • Good to hear you’re well. I”m so ready for summer. 🙂

      Wow, honey almond loaf bread! Sounds delish! I just enjoy the baking process and the lingering aroma in the air.

  3. Beautiful! And I love that it’s so marbled! 😀 My mom used to make marble cake with light and dark (cocoa) dough and swirled both so nicely. She never made brownies (Germany is not a brownie country, and although they’re coming gradually since we also have Startbucks etc, there weren’t any when I was a child), but an awesome cheesecake on a baking tray that she would cut into pieces like that. But the corner pieces weren’t my favorites, maybe because it was cheesecake – not so crispy at the corners. 😉

    • Thanks Kath. I like that ‘ying-yang’ impression from the black and white swirls. I think I got that ‘corner syndrome’ from my mother because she always ask for the corner piece even at the bakery, hehe.

      • “Corner syndrome” hahaha, love that! 😀

      • I’m a glut for the crusty side.

  4. Happy Birthday to your friend! Cream Cheese Brownies are fantastic…the perfect thing to celebrate with!

    • Thanks Faith! Yea, today’s her birthday. She’s getting an ice-cream cake at home. 🙂

  5. I just made it tonight! It doesn’t look as pretty as your picture, but it is soooo delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

