Posted by: gargupie | May 8, 2011

Avocado and Tomato Salad

I was debating which to list in the title first – avocado or tomato? My intuition told me “AVOCADO” just because that was what I was craving for lunch.  Diced tomatoes were added for the awesome contrasting color between bright red and green, additional nutrition, and the juice factor. 

Today’s Mother’s Day! (Happy Mother’s Day everyone!) Currently, my mom is on a day trip with her friend, while I am at home, *attempting* to get some work done.  But I still went out (so sunny and gorgeous outside!) to run errands (haircut, grocery shopping) and not to forget to grab a special dessert for mom.  Once I arrived home, I was ravenous.  Luckily, avocado to the rescue! Avocado and tomato salad is so easy to throw together. My lunch was ready in under ten minutes (minus the mess on my kitchen counter :P)  I paired it with more greens and some whole wheat toast.  I was in heaven to say the least. The creaminess from the avocado, the juiciness from the ripe tomatoes and the crunchy sound from the toasted bread.  Funny I was reading a book review on a book that supports the notion that carbohydrates cause weight gain due to insulin increase.  I do not propose eating lots of bread and rice and I am sure everyone’s body works differently, but I still believe in moderation and balance.  What is life if you cannot eat the food you enjoy? Have a slice of whole wheat toast. A moderate bowl of brown rice.  A baked potato topped with healthy fats.  And of course, lots of veggies and fruits, exercise, and keep a healthy mentality. 

As I was reading the post, I ate an extra slice as a silent protest.

Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful day, including a delicious lunch! Avocados and tomatoes are fantastic together!

  2. Mmmmmm, there’s nothing more refreshing than a nice tomato salad! 😀

    I agree with what you said about carbs. I think they’re healthy in moderation, you just shouldn’t stuff yourself with them. I know I don’t tolerate a lot of carbs, but if I eat too low carb I’ll always end up feeling depressed and exhausted.

    • Thanks for your supportive respons Kath. Me too. I love toast and brown rice. Depriving them would make my life miserable, lol.


Leave a Reply

Categories

