Posted by: gargupie | April 30, 2011

Karela and Black Wood Ear Stir-fry

Sorry I have not been posting lately for several reasons – busy schedule has kept my meals really basic and habitual and I was too consumed to muster up energy (could also be an excuse) to write a post.  But now that I have completed parts of my tasks, I thought I should return to write ‘something’ to let you know that I am still alive. 🙂

As I have mentioned, my meals have been really simple and straight-forward.  No hour-long baking session or chaotic kitchen exploration.  I do, however, still grocery shop because keeping up with healthful nutrition keeps me going during stressful moments.  (I also find grocery shopping very therapeutic for me).  I love bitter melon and different countries actually grow http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitter_melon.  The Chinese version is more ‘plump’ and taste milder, whereas the Japanese and Indian varieties are more pungent and the texture resembles volcanic eruption.  But I am a ‘worldly’ lover and do not discriminate against any vegetables.  The other day, karela (Indian bitter melon) were on sale, so I dropped some into my basket for dinner one night. I de-seeded and sliced the melon into stripped and sautéed them with  reconstituted black wood ear and peppery cilantro, along with ginger, chili pepper, and crushed garlic.  This dish  tasted wholesome and refreshing to my palate.  Just what I needed to ground my being.

Responses

  1. I’ve never had karela, but I’d love to find it here and give it a try. This looks like a delicious stir fry!

    • Awesome! Glad you find them interesting, too!

  2. I’ve never had bitter melon, but I’d love to try them! Your stir fry looks very delicious and refreshing indeed! 🙂

    • Thanks Kath. It’s nice to put something healthy into the body. You can totally feel you get powered up! 🙂

      • Agreed! How I eat has an immediate impact on how I feel.

        Hope you’re fine! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

