Posted by: gargupie | April 9, 2011

Walnut Banana Bread

Walnuts have lots of nutrients, no doubt, but they are still not my favorite nuts (mine is almonds).  But when it comes to banana bread, nothing pair better with this fruity carb than walnuts.  Perhaps some foods are just great ‘buddies’, kind of like avocado and tomatoes, peanut butter and banana, or butter and bread.  Just cannot do no wrong with these couples.

Found some overripe bananas on sale at the supermarket and just could not help but bought them for my weekend baking project. This loaf of walnut banana bread is very ‘bananay’ (think I just created a new word, hehe), moist (I prefer to use vegetable oil over butter), yet not too sweet.  Great toasted as a breakfast choice or just snack on it at anytime of day. Midnight snack, anyone?

Baked quick bread freezes well, too; but when it is that good, how could you resist not consuming it all in a day or two?  Oh, that ‘bananay’ aroma is still inside my place at this very moment…will be difficult to go to sleep…dreaming of bananas…

2 cups of flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1/4 tsp salt, 2 eggs, 3/4 cup sugar (or 1 cup if you prefer sweets), 3 mashed overripe banana, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 2 tbsp milk, 1/2 vanilla extra, 1/2 tsp grounded cinnamon, 1/2 crushed walnuts (optional)

Preheat over to 325 F. Mix in flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and sugar.

Beat eggs, then add in mashed banana, vanilla extract, milk, oil. 

Gradually incorporate the wet mixture into the flour blend.

Fold in walnuts. 

Bake for about 50 minutes or until center comes out dry.

Be patient. Let the loaf cool a bit before cutting it.

ENJOY!

Responses

  1. If you don’t mind, I’ll send this recipe to my mom. She’s a baker, and she loves bananas and walnuts. I think she’d love this recipe. 🙂

    • I’d be honored to share the recipe with your mom. 🙂

  2. Bananas and walnuts DO go together so well! This sounds so lovely. The bananey smelling house is always the cherry on top of making banana bread.

    • That’s why I love to bake…the lingering aroma is intoxicating. 🙂

  3. I like walnuts… but I like all kinds of nuts! This bread looks fantastic!!!

  4. Yumm I love fresh banana bread!

    • I know right? Bananas pair well with so many things! 🙂

  5. I made this tonight and it is sooooo delicious! I substituted the walnuts with almonds since I didn’t have walnuts lying around. Thanks so much for these yummy recipes! There’s something about all this rainy weather that’s turning me into a baking fiend. Haha!

    • Thanks for your compliment! I know. Rainy days (When will the rain end in NY?!) puts me in a baking mood, too. I love almonds, but I find banana bread pairs better with walnut. Did you take a picture??

      • Yep! They’re on flickr. You’re probably right about the walnuts but I hate them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

