Posted by: gargupie | April 2, 2011

Easiest Dessert Ever! Coconut Macaroons (with a hint of ginger)

Efficiency is highly valued in today’s society.  Employers want to get the most out of their employees (overworking them) and products must be multi-functional to warrant a justifiable purchase.  While we want to be wowed and impressed with complex meals when we eat out, when it comes to our own cooking, sometimes fast and easy does it.  As much fun it is to cook delicious foods, the prepping (grocery shopping) and aftermath (cleaning) could be discouraging when time is of essence. So, keeping a dish simple is key, yet without sacrificing  flavor. 

Coconut macaroons are sold in my local Jewish grocery store.  They come in different flavors, such as the traditional coconut, but also chocolate or vanilla.  I am a bit bored with baking cakes and cookies, so I thought, why not macaroons? And it turned out I only needed TWO ingredients! That’s right! Just two! But I added one more to make it MY version. I incorporated some grated ginger to my mix.  I have to be honest that the ginger flavor is not very pronounced, so for my next batch, I am going to add in some ginger powder plus extra freshly grated ginger to make the flavor pop!

2 cups of shredded coconut

a can of sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 350 oF

Mix coconut, condensed milk, and ginger together.  Make a spoonful per macaroon.

Bake approximately 15 minutes or until slightly toasted on top.

Let the macaroons cool a bit before eating!

Responses

  1. Yum, macaroons are the greatest! Drizzle a little chocolate over them and I am SOLD! 🙂

    • I thought about chocolate, too, but wanted to control the sweetness a bit, hehe.

      Great idea. Always a next time. 🙂

  2. Yes, there is definitely always a next time!

    And silly, the New York Dawg Pound is in Kansas City where I live!

    • Lol. I thought there’s one in NY and you tried both!

  3. Oh my gosh, this is a fantastic idea! I always thought making macarons was a rather tricky thing with lots of foamy egg white … This looks great! And I will definitely recreate those! (I totally know that my dad will love them, so this is something I could send him for Easter! :D) Thank you so much!

    • Thanks for your compliment! I’m so glad I could offer some new idea for you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

