Posted by: gargupie | March 15, 2011

Vegan Peanut Butter and Banana ‘Kookies’

Riding on the vegan streak, I wanted to try another ‘self-created’ vegan recipe.  Initially, I was intimidated by the thought of vegan baking, I mean, baked goods are often associated with butter and eggs, so the thought of using vegan butter or other yeast substitute is just a bit daunting for me…and my pantry.  But I realized that if you keep it simple, you can vegan a treat that is not as labor intensive or would drill a hole in your wallet. 

A lot of ‘low-fat’ recipes recommend the use of ripe bananas in place of butter.  Now, let’s be honest, the flavor of butter could never be replaced, but I do agree that banana is a suitable substitution for it.  FOr this peanut butter and banana ‘kookie’ (because it’s so different, :P) recipe, the inclusion of peanut butter is so rich and decadent (hey, the name even has the word ‘butter’ in it!) you would not even miss real butter or eggs.  It is also very easy to assemble. Kind of like a one pot creation!

3 large ripe bananas, mashed

1/2 cup of peanut butter (chunky or smooth, your preference)

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teapoon of baking powder

1/3 cup of brown sugar

1 cup of all-purpose flour

1. Heat the oven to 375 F.

2. Combine sugar. salt, and bananas. Add in the peanut butter.  Mix well.

3. Drop a tablespoon per cookie. Bake approximately 11-13 minutes.

Responses

  1. Wow, they look very nice! I think you don’t have to include butter and eggs in your baking goodies at all to make them be delicious. Still, I can very well understand your respect towards baking, because I’m not a baker myself. This may go away by just baking more often. 😉

    This would be a great recipe to make for my friend who is a big peanut butter lover! 😀 And it happens that her birthday is coming up in two months, so I could make them for her then!

    • She’s lucky to have a friend like you. 🙂

  2. These look delicious! 🙂

    • Thanks Amanda!

  3. oh! i love banana flavor anything!

  4. I have a banana everyday!

  5. I love PB and I love bananas…but I love them even more so when they’re together. This recipe looks healthy and delicious – I’ll have to give it a shot!

    • Awesome! Let me know when you recreate it. 🙂

  6. It sucks to have to find special vegan products for baking, but some recipes don’t need any weird replacements at all. If you like gingersnaps I can send you a recipe that uses standard ingredients: just flour, baking soda/powder, salt, maple syrup, molasses,oil and ginger!

    • Thanks for stopping by Nicki. A recipe would be wonderful! “)

  7. Here is the recipe! After I offered to share it I noticed there may be some copyright issues with re-posting it on the internet but I found out someone already did it so uh… here it is from them!

    http://www.maenad.net/recipes/desserts/ginger_snaps.html

    • Hey, thanks for sharing this recipe! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

