Posted by: gargupie | March 11, 2011

Vegan Pumpkin Mochi Cake

I was first introduced to kabocha (Japanese pumpkin) when I worked in Japan.  It is a simple recipe of simmering the cubed pumpkin in mirin, a little soy sauce, and sugar. My Japanese friend’s grandmother cooked a lot of it and my friend would always share some with me.  I was so lucky.  It is such a humble dish.  Just very homey and nostalgic.  Homecooked food, for me, is the best fuel for the body.

The other day, my mom bought a whole kabocha.  She usually makes soup with it, but since she had so much leftovers, I decided to mash the remaining orangey flesh up and make a mochi cake.  The best part? Not only it is very easy to make, but it is vegan, too!

1. I microwaved the kabocha to cook it through. I did it in intervals of 3 minutes until the flesh is soft enough to be mashed. Be careful! It is hot! But if you do not want to go through the labor intensive step, you can use canned pumpkin.

2. I combine one cup of puree pumpkin with one cup of mochi flour.

3. Add in 3/4 cup of white sugar.

4. Form into a ball and then flatten it into a disk. 

5. Heat olive oil in a pan and fry each side for about 4 minutes over medium heat.  As a final touch, I garnished the top with a few pumpkin seeds. 🙂

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Mmm, this looks fabulous! I love kabocha, and I’ll soon try pumpkin pancakes for sure! 😀 Is mochi flour brown rice flour? I don’t have mochi flour, but I have a bag of brown rice four sitting on my shelf! 😀

  2. Thanks Kath!~

    Hmm…brown rice flour is very different from mochi flour since the lather has a much higher gluten content. If you use the brown rice flour, it might just turn into a pumpkin pancake. Still not bad, right? 🙂

    • Oh, I had no idea mochi contained gluten! 😯 Is it gluten like in wheat? Hm. I thought is was just sticky rice, but GF.

  3. Yay, thank you for checking this out! Now I can enjoy mochi without any problems! 😀 Makes me love it twice as much immeditely! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

