Posted by: gargupie | March 5, 2011

Black Sesame Jello

One of my weaknesses (amongst many) is my tendency to accumulate things in the kitchen.  When I spot  sale items in the supermarket, whether a can of pumpkin puree or a bag of flour, I just could not help myself and imagine various ways to use them in my cooking.  Yet, once I brought it home, my fickle interest wandered off, leaving the lonely package in the pantry. 

So there I have a few packets of flavorless gelatin and a bag of instant black sesame dessert (bought at an Asian supermarket).  Not wanting to waste them, I decided to combine both to create a black sesame jello! Really easy and fast to make. No baking involved.  For a touch of color and a shot of nutrition, I sandwiched the ebon jello with sliced strawberries.  Black and red complement each other quite well. And oh, how the jello wiggles! 🙂

Responses

  1. I’m the same with kitchen supplies – I buy them when they’re on sale or I buy to much regularly, and then they get old on the shelf …

    Your bean jello very much reminds me of a Japanese desert dish. (I still wonder if you’re from Japan, or if your parents are.) I’ve never had anything like this. It looks fancy, though! And fresh strawberries are above everything, anyway.

    • Hey Kath,

      I think you’re referring to the Japanese kanten, which is made from agar agar.

      Traditional Asian sweets are usually lighter than Western versions, but I still prefer baking. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

