Posted by: gargupie | February 25, 2011

Bitter Melon Stir-Fry

I truly believe that one’s healthy could influence one’s palate craving.  For me, when I have not had my share of vegetable for the day, my body craves for something bitter and I do not mean medicine. 🙂  I usually buy pressed juice (albeit expensive), but for dinner, I prefer cooked foods, so stir-fry greens are my stables.  Goya, also known as bitter melon, is an acquired taste.  It is actually a fruit, yet it does not even a hint of sweetness at all, like most fruits.  It also does not portray a very photogenic physique.  It is oblong with rugged, volcanic-liked surface.  Inside, you will find seeds that should be removed before cooking.   Despite its ‘ugly-duckling’ appearance, it offers lots of vitamins and nutrients for our health.  You can cook it with meat (a popular Okinawan dish includes pork and tofu) or make a vegetarian version, like I did here.  After a day of heavy eating, it is nice to balance out the palate.

Responses

  1. Wow, that looks so cool! 😀 (You know I have a heart for funny looking and even ugly foods. ;)) I can so much relate to craving something bitter and fresh when having not even vegetables a day, but this stir looks like it perfectly balanced it out! What you you have in there? Enoki and black fungus? Looks fab! 🙂

    • Yea! You guessed all the ingredients! Good eye! 🙂

    • Thanks for the compliments! You can find bitter melon in most Asian supermarkets. 🙂

      • Does it look like that when you buy it? Then I’m afraid my Asia store doesn’t have it … I’d realized those little monsters, I guess. 😉

      • Yes. It looks actually like that. Ugly looking little fellow, but still love it. 😉

  2. Great post! I’ve never had bitter melon before but I’d love to give it a try! I think I’d really enjoy it since I do love bitter greens! 🙂

  3. This is what I like to have for work at lunch almost every day – light, vegetarian, and with lots of mushrooms! That bowl in the background seriously has me salivating. I need to try to cook some bitter melon myself! I think my husband would eat it purely because he would be intrigued by the name.


Leave a Reply

Categories

