Posted by: gargupie | February 22, 2011

Hummus

So sorry I have been away for so long! Firstly, schoolworks have been overwhelming and procrastination is not helping; secondly, I did not make any inventive meals that warrant a post; but thirdly, I spilled water on my laptop and it crashed! The old one is still in the shop, waiting for the part to arrival, but guess what? I bought a new laptop! Well, it is about time anyway because I have had the old one for over 5 years! It is time for something new.

Anyway, now that I am Internet accessible again, I want to update my posting.

Not sure if you know, but I am a hummus addict.  There was a period when I would take the subway from my workplace JUST to bought a hummus sandwich. I am that devoted. 🙂 I have always been afraid to create my own, even though it is so cheap to make some at home.  Finally, I buck down and got the ingredients and whipped up a batch. Oh! Why did not I overcome such fear earlier? Not only I will save a lot of money, but I get to control the qualities of the ingredients, too.  I will still patronize the restaurant that offers my favorite hummus (it is probably the special tahini and spices they use), but in the meantime, my homemade hummus would be part of my everyday lunch…along with some rustic bread to dip it in.

My Take on Homemade Hummus

Drain a can of chickpeas and put the beans into a food processor/blender along with two heapful tablespoons of tahini, 6 tablespoons of water, a dash of cumin, salt to taste, and juice of half a lemon. Roast a clove of garlic, mash it up and add that in as well.

Blend away!

If the consistency is too thick, add more water or if you prefer, add a drizzle of olive oil. 

Serve with a drizzle of olive oil and whole chickpeas (optional).

Eat with pita, carrot/celery sticks or as is! A great source of protein 🙂

Responses

  1. This looks nice! I made a pea hummus recently, but it also had parsley. (I’m currently in a phase of trying out some legumes. :))

    • Fortunately, I don’t have any ‘gas’ issue, lol, because I love beans. Chickpeas (hence my addiction to hummus) is my favorite. What’s yours?

  2. Oh, and most important: I’m happy you’re back now! Sounds like crazy time you’ve had! My laptop broke around a year ago, and I went up the walls. 😕 Hope time will be less rough for you now!

    • Thanks Kath. The old one is still in the shop. Thanks goodness I got a new one!

  3. One of my friends has recently discovered his love of hummus and I really should make some homemade hummus for him and his girlfriend to enjoy at home. Thank you for the inspiration and enjoy your new laptop! 🙂

  4. Every time I try to make hummus, I’m disappointed. It’s just never as good or as smooth as Sabra, which is my favorite store brand, or as the hummus at Hummus Place. Maybe I need to blend it for several more minutes, or buy a food processor instead, but that’s probably the only thing I’d use a food processor for, so it would be taking up space in my kitchen for just that one purpose.

    I also like edamame hummus, which can be found at Trader Joe’s. Of course that’s not really hummus since it’s made with edamame instead of chickpeas. I thought it was bizarre at first, but it really grew on me a LOT.

    • Thanks for the edamame hummus recommendation! I think ‘hummus’ could be applied to any ‘whipped beans’, but my fav is still chickpeas. 🙂

      I love the Hummus Place too. Hummus Kitchen got some nice ones, too. Another secret place of mine is Hoomoos Asli.

      Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

