Posted by: gargupie | February 6, 2011

Underrated Vegetables – Eggplant and Cauliflower Stir-fry

You know the drill – the darker the green, the more nutrition the vegetable offers, but that does not mean other ‘colored’ vegetables should be put on the sideline.  While we laud about kale, broccoli, or spinach, let’s not forget to notice their cousins.  Two of my favorite ‘underdogs’ are eggplant and cauliflower. They are both low in calories and have a respectful amount of fiber and essential nutrients. If I had the time, I love to roast my eggplant, but in a cinch, I like to make a spicy stir-fry.  On this Lunar New Year’s Day, I made a quick-flash eggplant and cauliflower (another underrated vegetable) stir-fry. Hey, cauliflower is like the albino ‘broccoli’! So don’t be bias! 

We should eat a rainbow of fruits and vegetables. Not only for health, but for texture, flavor, and visual appeal, too.

Responses

  1. Great post! I never liked cauliflower, but I’ll give it another try…

  2. If you add enough spices and other flavors, I’m sure you’ll learn to like cauliflower. You can also puree it and make a mock mashed potato 🙂

  3. Looks delicious, and cauliflower and eggplant are defintely some of my favorite veggies! 🙂

    • Yay for the underrated veggies. 🙂

  4. I love cauliflower! Next to asparagus, it’s my favorite spring /summer vegetable. I like it steamed with fresh chives and some butter melted over it. 🙂 Eggplant, on the other hand, isn’t my cup of tea so much. I’ve tried it roasted, baked, and (stir) fried, but I can’t help it. Too bad.

    • But do you like babaghanosh? Or eggplant parmagiana? 🙂

      • What’s that?! I’ve never heard of it!

    • After hummus, babaghanoush is my favorite mediterranean dip. 🙂

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baba_ghanoush

      • That sounds very good actually! 😀

  5. I agree with you about eggplant. It is definitely underrated. I love it!

    • Yea. Another fan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

