Posted by: gargupie | January 8, 2011

Pad Thai Inspired Stir-Fry Noodles

Once again, my mom had overtime, so I took the reign to cook dinner for you.

There was a lonely, expired (just a week, hee) packet of egg noodles in the fridge, so I decided to use it up.  Inspired by the typical pad thai served at Thai restaurants, I rummaged through the pantry to see if I could come up with a sauce that is close enough. Well, it was close enough. 🙂

Mix 2 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter (I only had crunchy on hand, but of course creamy works great, too) with half a cup of low-sodium soy sauce, a teaspoon of sugar, a tablespoon of rice vinegar and a red chili flakes. 

When the noodles (you can basically use any type of noodles if you are not aiming for authenticity, in which case, you would want to use rice stick noodles) is cooked, mix in the sauce to coat the noodles. 

I also added some fried tofu for protein and other crunchy veggies (ex: bean sprouts, celery) for texture.  Garnish with some green scallions or cilantro. The sky is the limited. Experiment!

Responses

  1. Haha, Alina (from Duty Free Foodie) would love this one, I think! She’s very much into Pad Thai! 😀 If you can also make it with rice noodles, this would be something I could try, too! 🙂

    • Really? I don’t know Alina, but perhaps this post might interest her. 🙂

      Thanks!

  2. I love Thai food of any kind, pad Thai in particular. This looks like perfection to me!

    • Thanks! You can add more chili peppers or even sirancha if you like it hot. 🙂

  3. Very sweet of you to cook for you and your mom! Love your pad thai-inspired noodles, they look fantastic!

    • Thanks Faith!

  4. Even without meat I guess I will love this one, I love the flavours in your recipe


Leave a Reply

Categories

