Posted by: gargupie | January 1, 2011

First Sweet of 2011 – Blueberry Sour Cream Cake

Happy New Year! Did you all stay up to ring in year 2011? I admit. I did not. I went to bed. I am not a very celebratory person. In my dictionary, any day is just another day, so you would never see you fight for a holiday meal reservation or jumping on a ‘newly reviewed’ restaurant.  Perhaps I am not a romantic, just practical I guess. 🙂

2010 has been a roller coaster ride for me and I hope the new year will be an improved one. I do not normally make resolution since I would just set myself up for disappointment if I cannot accomplish it. However, I do plan to stay more focus with my priorities and be more mindful.

On a lighter note, I was in a baking mood (also had lots of extra eggs in the fridge) so decided to bake up something for my friend whom I will meet tomorrow.  Nothing fancy. Just simple tasting. I am starting to enjoy using berries in my baked goods. I love how the berry juice bleeds into the cakey dough. Also, knowing that there is fruit somehow makes the indulgence more justified, isn’t it? 🙂

Blueberry sour cream cake

2 sticks of butter, 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 tsp of baking soda, 1/4 of vanilla extract and almond extract, 3 eggs (separated), 1 cup of sour cream, 3 cups of sifted flour, and 1 cup of blueberries.

1. Preset oven to 350 F

2. Mix butter and sugar. Then add in egg yolks.

3. In a separate bowl, blend sour cream, the extracts. Finally the flour.

4. Beat egg white till foamy.

5. Combine the dry and wet ingredients together.  Fold in the blueberries.

6. Butter pan and bake for 50 minutes.

Responses

  1. Baking mood sounds like having a little leisure time and enjoyment! And it’s such a simple pleasure to just pull a lovely cake out of the oven you’ve just make – visible results! 😀

    I hope 2011 will be a great and satisfying year for you! Have a wonderful time with your friend!

    • Thanks Kath! The cake is sitting on the table, waiting to be delivered this afternoon.

      I enjoy the baking process very much. From combining all the raw ingredients to create a final, singular product is quite rewarding. 🙂

  2. This cake makes a truly lovely start to 2011! Wishing you a very happy, healthy, and prosperous New Year!

    • Thanks Faith! Same to you, too!

  3. I like desserts with a bit of a tang so this cake is right up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

  4. Yum, what a delicious looking cake! Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

