Posted by: gargupie | December 3, 2010

Ricotta Biscuits

After Thanksgiving, besides the exponential leftovers on the table, there are also odds and ends lying around the shelves in the freezer or the fridge.  Half of an onion? A sprig of parsley? An accidentally opened can of condensed milk? Although I spent my Thanksgiving at another house, I still cooked something, so there were some extras in my house, too. 

One item was ricotta cheese, which I used for my ‘nontraditional’ pumpkin tiramisu.  I am not ready to replicate another one. I wanted something different. People’s taste buds probably grew tired from pumpkin or other “Thanksgivingy’ foods (well, at least for the next few days). So, I decided to bake ricotta biscuits.  They are easy to transport to my office, simple to make, and also relatively healthful (if you do not count the stick of butter :P). 

Pre-heat oven to 350 degree F.

1. Mix all the dry ingredients together: 2 cups of flour, 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of baking powder, 1 pinch of nutmeg (you can omit if you prefer).

2. Blend a stick of room-temperature butter and 3/4 cup of sugar together. Add 1/4 cup of milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract, a beaten egg and a cup of ricotta cheese.

3. Combine the dry and wet ingredients together. Do not overwork the dough.

4. Spoon the dough onto a buttered pan. Should make about 16 good-sized biscuits.  Bake for 13-15 minutes until golden brown.

5. Cool and enjoy! You can eat the biscuit as is or with jam or more butter. Your choice. 🙂

Responses

  1. They look so good! I wish I was able to eat them … 😦

    Just one thing I wondered: Where exactly is the ricotta in your recipe … (??) I must have missed it somehow.

    • Silly me. Thanks for pointing it out! I’ve edited the ricotta (the MAIN ingredient!) back in. 🙂

      • I’m like that. I tend to forget the most impartant things. 😉

  2. What a great use for ricotta! I bet the biscuits had a really lovely texture!

  3. I bet my husband would love these, he LOVES ricotta cheese!


Leave a Reply

Categories

