Posted by: gargupie | November 30, 2010

Gadget Review – Garlic Peeler

I am a garlic fiend. I really am. I am not afraid of bad breath, but one pet peeve – the garlic must be cooked, so no raw ones. I once did not mince it fine enough for my homemade hummus and my taste buds suffered afterward.

Kitschy gadgets pop up from time to time on infomercials or in specialty stores. I just looove browsing through the cookery department, even though I know I cannot affordable them – monetary and space-wise.  But let’s be honest, most gadgets are quite unnecessary. An electric can-opener? Good in a commercial setting or for a disabled person, but it really does not take much effort if you own a good quality manual can opener. 

But the other day, I came across a sale on this space-friendly tool – a garlic peeler. I usually just whack the heck out of my garlic to unpeel the skin, but it was on sale (less than 50 cents) so I thought, hey, why not.  It came in the mail the other day and I tried it straight away. It worked! Very efficient! But whenever I need an anger management, you bet I will still whack the heck out of my garlic. 🙂

Responses

  1. Whee, never seen something like this! HOW DOES IT WORK? (Exciting!!) I love garlic, and I hate peeling it, so I need this! 😀

    • Cool! You just put the garlic inside the tube, roll it and viola! The peel comes off!

      • Okay, I need to look out for something like that around here!

    • If I ever found a good deal, maybe I’ll send you one 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

