Posted by: gargupie | October 9, 2010

Green Papaya Salad – My ‘Toothless’ Version

Green papaya salad is a common Thai dish that serves like a digestive than an actual meal.  It is usually shredded green papaya, topped with roasted peanuts, sliced tomatoes, cut string beans, a sprinkle of chili flakes, and dressed in a tart salad dressing.  I enjoy it so much, I like to remake it at home. 

I bought a whole green papaya just before my accident, but because this fruit is very firm when not shredded, I scream in pain whenever I bite into it. So, I decided to chop the cubes up in a blender to create a ‘baby food’ green papaya salad a la ‘toothless’ version.  While the crunch factor was missing, at least I did not have to throw it away. 

Got to be creative in the kitchen.

Responses

  1. This sounds delicious. I love Thai food. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a green papaya, though!

  2. Very creative way to still be able to enjoy your green papaya! I would love to try veggie!

  3. i’ve eaten papaya salads a bunch, but you know – i don’t even think i’d know what it looks like in its whole state!


Leave a Reply

Categories

