Posted by: gargupie | September 24, 2010

Brussel Sprouts

 

I admit it. I have a strange palate. I enjoy foods (got to have my daily apple and vegetables) that most people do not prioritize and I dislike flavors (sweet & salty) that most would find as sinful treats.  Yea, I probably cannot survive on a desert. 

One of my favorite vegetables is the unappreciated brussel sprouts.  I view them as little condensed balls of cabbage. They might not look as exotic as dinosaur kale or as colorful as red and orange peppers, they are jammed back with vitamins (A, C, K) and minerals.  Of course, if you boil them, the discoloration and soggy texture would only turn you against them, so try to crisp them up by roasting or stir-frying them.

I recently see more chefs using brussel sprouts as a side dish or as an accoutrments on the entrees.  I usually like to roast mine. How do you cook yours?

Responses

  1. I love roasting them with a little olive oil and a pinch of salt and pepper. Then when they’re done drizzle a little balsamic vinegar on top…perfection!

    • that sounds so delicious right now. 🙂

  2. My mom always used to cook brussel sprouts so I have a love for them as well! I absolutely love their flavor and texture. I don’t know how she cooked them, but I thinking back I believe she roasted them too.

    • Yea, I think roasting is the most popular method of cooking them. 🙂

  3. roasting is good, but boiling is good as long as you don’t over-cook them. boil them briefly in very salty water, until they’re just tender, then toss them with some unsalted butter and pepper.

    • I also like to steam them in a microwave for quick eats.

  4. I love them too ! I cut a cross in the stem to help even cooking and toss them in a frypan with some olive oil, butter and garlic.

  5. i like to add brussels sprout to mac n cheese. haha

  6. i’ll steam, boil, saute, or bake. adding them to a (vegan) shepherd’s pie is pretty awesome, too.

    i’m growing PURPLE brussel’s sprouts in my garden, i am so excited to harvest!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

