Posted by: gargupie | September 7, 2010

Strawberry Apple Juice

Sadly, strawberry season has ended.  Instead of a sea of redness at the farmer’s market, I now see lots of stone fruits (aka peaches).  While strawberries are still sold in the supermarkets and fruit carts on the streets of New York, their peak sweetness has passed, so in order to resurrect their life a bit, I created a blended fruity drink.  Not only do I adore the frothy foam rested on top, I also added in other ‘natural sweeteners’ to brighten up the flavor just a bit.  Today, I blended a few strawberries along with a splash of apple cider and a touch of honey.  It was a refreshing drink – a reminiscence of summer days as we march into the fall.

Responses

  1. i’m so sorry that strawberry season is over in nyc….in l.a. it goes all year long – but at least you have a decent public transportation system!

    • True. And I’m embracing peaches at this moment.

  2. Oh man that sounds sooooo good. What a great combination!

    • There’s more blended juice idea to come. 🙂

  3. What a great way to enjoy the last of the strawberries. I’ll miss them too, but I’m so excited for apple season!

    • Ooohh yea. I love apple picking!


Leave a Reply

Categories

