Posted by: gargupie | September 5, 2010

Stone Barns Center

Stone Barns Center is a non-profit farm and education center, but is better known as a partner with the world-renowned restaurant Blue Hill.  I will not be able to dine at this high caliber restaurant for…oh…awhile (I predict), but to get a taste of what farm-to-table food taste like, you can always get your lunch at the Blue Hill Cafe inside the center.

Being in denial that summer is over (the ‘symbol’ of Labor Day weekend, the last ‘holiday’ before the first day of school), I wanted one final summery outing to celebrate my favorite season.  It was a long drive upstate, but well worth it.  I encountered friendly farm animals (sheep, pigs, turkeys oh my!), saw vegetable fields, ate delicious (albeit pricey) organic foods, and also got lost as we wandered around without a trusty map.  

To be honest, my Sunday started out really moody; luckily, the scenic greenery and nature bounties brought back the sunshine in me.  That’s the magic of the mother earth.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you got one final summer outing in! Sounds like it was a lot of fun!

    • Thanks Faith! Hope you’re enjoying your Labor Day weekend as well

  2. We have a similar place here… a place where kids can pet animals and be educated about animals and nature. Even though I am not a parent yet, I still enjoy going there once in a while.

    • I wish I could embark on more nature outings. Although I live in the city, I’m not really a city gal. 🙂

  3. glad you had fun!

    • Thanks Lynn! Your suggestions helped a lot. 🙂

  4. yeah it was very refreshing to walk around the farm. what did you think of the open faced bologna sandwich?

    • Hi Donny – My mom had it. She thought it was a bit salty, but enjoyed the frittata and scone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

