Posted by: gargupie | August 8, 2010

Office Treats – Fresh Blueberry Cake

When you work in the corporate world, there a few office necessities and one of them is munchies. That’s right. We need some sugar or salty goodness to survive through deadlines and pressure.  I’m not saying the snacks are all healthy (helloooo chips and chocolate), but when the treat is homemade, you just cannot refuse it, can’t you?

My mom’s co-workers often bring in nuts and cookies to share during break, so when my mom wanted to purchase some sponge cake from a bakery after our brunch, I volunteered to bake something.  I had some fresh blueberries leftover, so why not go the ‘healthful’ route and create a blueberry cake?!

It turned out quiet decent, don’t you think? The process and ingredients are also very easy to follow and obtain.  Sine the berries were a bit tart to start with, I did macerate them in a bit of sugar to sweeten them up a bit.  I think that’s my little secret in this recipe.

The white cake is adapted from Gourmet Magazine’s nectarine golden cake, but I substituted blueberries instead, so I sure this versatile recipe would work for most fruits. Be adventurous!

Responses

  1. that looks delicious!!

  2. Thanks! I think I surprised myself as well.

  3. Wow, you’re a nice coworker too haha 🙂

  4. Thanks Nicholas. I try to ‘fatten’ up my colleagues from time to time. 😛

  5. Mmmm, love blueberries!

  6. I nice treat like this definitely helps to pass time and keep people going at work! It looks beautiful.

  7. I would dive into this cake! and skip lunch!


Leave a Reply

Categories

