Posted by: gargupie | July 29, 2010

Toasted Almonds

 

I am nut for nuts! Truly! I love to toast peanut butter on top of the waffle to bring out the nuttiness and I eat raw almonds as one of my sources of protein (since I am a vegetarian).  But my mom, she favors roasted over raw nuts. So to cater to her palate, I decided to bake a homemade version instead of getting the by the pound from Whole Foods. Not only I saved a lot of money, but I got to control the quality of the ingredients as well.

For this bowl of roasted almonds, I used maple syrup, 2 tablespoon of olive oil and some sesame seeds.  Mix everything together, spread the almonds out and bake at 350 degree F for approximately 10 minutes. Remember to check on the nuts so they are not overdone, which might sneak up on you. Lastly, I sprinkled some coconut flakes for flavor and color.  Once you start to eat them, you just cannot stop!

Responses

  1. I love toasted almonds! My favorite preparation involves baking them, then mixing them with tamari and melted better, baking them again, and then seasoning with salt and cayenne pepper. The original recipe is from foodandwine.com.

    • Thanks for sharing this savory version Judy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

