Posted by: gargupie | June 18, 2010

Enoki Mushrooms

Sometimes I wonder how some can indulge in a tasting menu at 10pm.  Unlike my college years, when my friends and I partied till the wee hours and did not go to bed until the sun woke up (hellloooo first ray of light), my present sleep pattern is more attuned to nature’s schedule.  While my peers might go out for a drink or dinner after work, I much prefer to have lunch or brunch with them instead because I cannot sleep with a full stomach of food. 

Another ‘lite’ dish I favor is mushrooms.  I especially like enoki because of its snow white appearance and mild taste.  It is also very versatile – use it in soup, stir-fry or even grilling! Nutritionally, it has high antioxidants, provides good protein, and can regulate our immune system. However, it is not the white buttom mushrooms, so do not eat enoki raw.

Responses

  1. I love mushrooms but I’ve never had this variety — I’ll have to look for them! 🙂

    • Yea. Would be great with eggs too!

  2. hmm LOVE enoki..esp the texture.

    • I know. Kind of like spaghetti, right? 🙂

  3. I’ve never had enoki, but your dish looks lovely.

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog! You will come across enoki mushrooms at Japanese restaurants as well. 🙂

  4. Would enoki go with potatoes? I have never even seen these mushrooms.

    • @Comfy Cook – I don’t see why not. 🙂 You can make a potato gratin with enoki mushroom!

  5. Thanks for linking to My Meatless Meals. I am logged in here as Comfy Cook, not My Sweet and Savory.


Leave a Reply

Categories

