Posted by: gargupie | June 5, 2010

Eggplant – Our Royal, Purple Friend

It’s interesting that green vegetables are more popular or often selected than from the other light spectrums ex: red pepper, white cauliflower or pink radishes).  While we are encouraged to ‘eat the rainbow’, I feel we still play favortism, such as buying lettuce, romaine, or broccoli and overlooking the lonely yellow zucchini and yes, eggplant (also known as aubergine). 

One of the most popular usage of eggplant is baba ghanouj, which is a meze dip with a final coloration of pale white since the skin is stripped off in order to showcase the ‘meat’ of an eggplant.  However, there are some palettes who are sensitive to the bitterness of the seeds.  Old custom has been to soak the cut eggplant in some salted water before cooking to not only eliminate the bitterness, but also to draw out excess moisture.

There are a variety of eggplants – some are plump and chubby, while others are long and slender.  I prefer the latter ones, which are usually the Chinese or Japanese eggplants.  I find the meat a little ‘sweeter’ and less watery in a stir-fry dish.  Though if you are making an eggplant parmagiana, then I would suggest the larger ones.  So even different breeds yield a particular, subtle taste difference.

My go-to eggplant dish is to slice up a long eggplant and stir-fry it along with slivered garlic, green sprouts, scallions, and seasoned with oyster sauce.  If you can take the heat, add in some chili sauce, which would surely compliment with a bowl of rice.

Responses

  1. I agree with you! My favorite eggplants are the little ones or these long willowy ones, so elegant.

  2. I love eggplant! I don’t make it as often as I would like to because unfortunately my hubby can’t stand it due to the bitterness. It’s so delicious roasted!

    • That’s too bad…can he eat eggplant parmagiana then since it’s fried? 🙂

      Well, more of this purply goodness for you then, hee.

  3. Omg I love eggplant!! My parents made it in dumplings, made them stir-fry, steamed them and made them into salad, etc. There’s soooo many ways to make eggplant and they’re soo delicious!!!

    • Thanks for stopping by bubblepeachtea. I love steaming eggplant and then drizzle some oyster sauce on top too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

